A night I’ll never forget.

27 Nov

June 2nd, 2006 – around 11:00PM. For most of the families that day was a nightmare of their lives. So was it for my family and me. Initially atleast. Earlier that day, my brother-in-law (fakkAllaahu asra) was arrested along with a few other brothers. We sat at home, in shock, wondering what had just happened. None of us shed a tear, I guess out of sheer disbelief. It was getting late and my little brother had not yet come back from. He’d been out with his friends. So me and my mother went out looking for him. We were just around the corner of our house when a pack of cars stopped at the end of the street and the SWAT team came running towards our house pointing guns at us. We went inside, I closed the door and asked everyone to stay downstairs. Thats when they broke in. The door was open but no. They had to pull off their stunts. Too many movies I suppose. “WE HAVE A SEARCH WARRANT FOR YOUR HOUSE! EVERYONE COME DOWN TO THE FRONT DOOR!!!” when we’re right there, standing right infront of them.

One by one they called us out of the house to be searched. My dad was the first to go. He had been in such a shock (may Allaah bless him and protect him) that after he’d heard about my brother -in-law’s arrest, he’d gone back to his room and started working on his files. And subhaan’Allaah, when he came down, he’d brought his papers and pen with him to the door. So one of them glances at the papers and yells at my dad, saying: “DROP YOUR WEAPONS! DROP YOUR WEAPONS RIGHT NOW!!!” With all those guns pointing at us, what were they expecting my dad to do? Hit them with a pen?

But what they did next infuriated me and my family. They pulled my dad from his collars and he tripped. Then they handcuffed him and took him for questioning. I yelled at them and asked them to go easy on my father because he was already in a state of shock and he has a heart condition. Their reply to me made me sick: “Don’t worry, we know that already. Thats what we have the ambulance for.” Animals.

Each one of us were treated almost the same, except that we were searched by female officers. We had denied to be questioned by them so we were made to stand outside with the babies (neice and nephew) and my little sisters. My sister and mother had been forced to come out without shoes. They waited for my brother to arrive home from work so they could take him away from us too. And so they did. We didnt even get to see him. They took him straight from the street infront of our house to the police station. Initially, they did not tell us but after we kept persisting for an answer, they informed us that he had actually been arrested.

We waited and waited outside in the rain with the children crying and terrified.. while they searched our house. And thats when I heard a distant, but clear and beautiful voice of the mu’adhdhin from our local masjid, just a 5 mins walk away from our house. Mixed with the mercy pouring down from the sky, the aadhaan was ever-so soothing and I knew at that moment that everything was going to be alright. That indeed Allaah is Great and there is no God but He. He is our only source of Help and Mercy, and He alone can deliver us from this trial. Whatever they do to us, they will never reach our hearts where our belief in Allaah is renewed everyday, with every salaah and every du`aa that escapes our lips. And I was reminded of this aayah from soorah Faatir:

يَا أَيُّهَا النَّاسُ أَنتُمُ الْفُقَرَاء إِلَى اللَّهِ وَاللَّهُ هُوَ الْغَنِيُّ الْحَمِيدُ

O mankind! it is you who stand in need of Allaah, but Allaah is Rich (Free of all wants and needs), Worthy of all praise.

This trial, as hard as it appeared to be, was a renewal of faith for me and my family, especially my parents. I know that it was painful and it is painful considering that we have been separated from our loved ones, but to imagine what Muslims in other parts of the world go through day and night, and to compare this with the gift of strong will and faith in Allaah that has been granted to us in exchange with the above.. priceless. Its all about how we look at our trials. One can sit and cry, and turn into a zombie, not knowing what to do or one can cry but cry to Allaah for the sins our hands have committed, and take a step forward by closing the gaps between us and Allaah.

“O Allaah, I seek refuge in You for Your Pleasure and against Your Wrath, and in Your Forgiveness and against Your Punishment and in You from You, I cannot Praise You as You can Praise Yourself.

I have surrendered myself to You, I have directed my face to You, I have entrusted my affairs to You, I have compelled my back to refuge in You, in want and in fright of You, there is no resort nor survival from You except (in turning) to You. I have faith in Your book which You brought down and in the Prophet (Muhammad sallallaahu `alayhi wasallam) you have sent.”

10 Responses to “A night I’ll never forget.”

  1. Yusuf November 27, 2006 at 4:10 am #

    May Allah reward you and your family for showing such patience. Ameen.

  2. Umm siraaj November 27, 2006 at 9:56 am #

    Assalaamu Aleykum Ukhtee

    Barakallaahu feeki for sharing. i know how it feels.
    but i wasnt at home thou when our house got raided but i know exactly what u mean. it re-new your faith and open your mind to a lot of new stuff u didnt think about before. you realize the short-ness of the dunya and how you start striving for jannah.

    as long as they keep firm on the deen, then alhamdulillah we have nothing to complain about.

    May Allaah make it easy on you and your family and release our brothers soon.

  3. Umm Khawla November 27, 2006 at 1:51 pm #

    aameen to the ad`iya..

  4. muslimunity January 4, 2007 at 12:06 pm #

    salams
    may Allah reward you all and make it easy for you and your family. may HE grant you jannah in the hereafter. it sickens me to read this and think about all that muslims have to go through just to live day by day. subhanallah

  5. Umm Khawla January 4, 2007 at 7:47 pm #

    wa`alaykum assalaam wa rahmatullaah,

    ..and may Allaah reward you with the same, aameen.

  6. Umm Kulthum May 19, 2007 at 6:32 am #

    Asalamo3alaikumwara7matulahi wabarakatuh

    may Allah grant you and your family , ever eternal happiness in firdaus ala ameen

    No matter what they do , and how they do it.. We are at patience and pleasure by the decree of Allah subhanahutwa3ala.

    Jus a lil fading world.. jus a lil fading world..

    “Who, when disaster strikes them, say “indeed we belong to Allah and to him we shall return”.

    And even though there is nothing we can offer except our biggest treasure to raise our hands in the utterance of supplications..

    wasalamo3alaikumwara7matulahiwabarakatuh

  7. Umm Khawla May 19, 2007 at 11:53 am #

    wa`alaykum assalaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh,

    You know, I’d kinda blocked all those thoughts. I’d tried not to think about any of that for a while now. But when I read it again today, it felt like a rush of pain, agony and frustration.

    I often think to myself how its unfair, these brothers are being tested so much no just here but everywhere in the world. Every single day in the news there’s gotta be something negative.

    I ask Allaah to keep us all strong and steadfast.

    Jazaakillaah khayr Umm Kulthum.

  8. baab al jannah May 31, 2007 at 4:30 pm #

    Assalamualaikum wr wb

    May Allah reward you sis. I can still remember it…that day i was comin back from madrasa..almost salaah time…i saw those big cars otuside of your house…and..believe me…i felt tht pain in my Heart…
    but one thing for sure..I made duaa for all of you with a sincere heart.
    That night…it just felt ajeeb. I couldnt even sleep.

    Allah only tests those that He loves.

    May Allah (swt) reward you all. Ameen.

  9. Umm Khawla June 2, 2007 at 10:29 pm #

    wa`alaykum assalaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuh,

    Aameen to your du`aa. Jazaakillaah khayr sis.

    It’s been a year now. June 2nd. Things happen, things change. Times can be tough but there’s always hope from Allaah.

    Alhamdulillaah for Islaam.

  10. Umm Kulthum July 18, 2007 at 11:02 am #

    Bismillah

    Asalamo3alaikumwara7matulahiwabarakatuh

    wa iyaki khayr al jazza ..

    We hope Allah grants you patience Umm Khawla ..
    And you and other Muslims are not forgotton in our prayers..

    Wasalamo3alaikumwara7matulahiwabarakatuh

Leave a Reply

