“..My soul’s companions are my books..”

17 Jun

Ibn Faaris stated:

 

“They asked how I was, and I said, well, and thank you. A need fulfilled and another is neglected. When distress is such that my heart becomes constricted, I say perhaps one day will bring with it some aid. My comrade is my cat and my soul’s companions are my books, and the object of my love is my night lantern.”

5 Responses to ““..My soul’s companions are my books..””

  1. muwahidah June 22, 2007 at 2:04 pm #

    jazakillahu khairan, i love reading books you move to the other world while reading the book in your hands..

    -Umm siraj =)

  2. Maria June 24, 2007 at 9:18 am #

    wow, that was beautiful. my books are my companions too…

  3. aishah June 27, 2007 at 2:00 am #

    books are an escape from reality. gotta love em.

  4. Lewanay June 28, 2007 at 1:39 pm #

    Jazaki Allahu Khayr

    Check your mail ….

  5. Umm Kulthum July 18, 2007 at 10:58 am #

    Bismillah

    Asaamo3alaikum wara7matulahiwabarakatuh

    ‘Tis ‘True Tis True

    BarakAllahfiki .. I wrote something simmilar..
    may Allah aid us in implementing what we learn Ameen

    Sometimes i preffer the companionship of books over the companionship of men .. but if the companionship of men aspire and are worthy companions.. then they cannot compare to the companionship of Books..
    And Kalamullah is haqq.. and others (i.e books).. will have mistakes..

    Wasalamo3alaikumwara7matulahiwabarakatuh

Leave a Reply

