“A man from the people of Paradise will enter now.”

14 Aug


Anas Ibn Malik (radiyAllaahu `anhu) reported that he and other companions were sitting with the Messenger (sallallaahu `alayhi wasallam), who said: “A man from the people of Paradise will enter now.” And a man from al-Ansar entered, with his beard dripping with water from Wudhu (ablution), and holding his sandals in his left hand.

The following day, the Prophet (sallallaahu `alayhi wasallam) said the same thing and the same man entered.

On the third day, the Prophet (sallallaahu `alayhi wasallam) again repeated his statement and the same man entered with water dripping and holding his sandals.

When the Prophet (sallallaahu `alayhi wasallam) left, Abdullah Ibn Amr Ibn al-As (radiyAllaahu `anhu) followed the man and said: ‘I quarreled with my father and I swore I would not go to him for three days and night. Would you shelter me for these days?’ the man replied: ‘Yes.’

Anas said: ‘Abdullah said that he stayed with this man for three nights and he did not see him praying at night, but every time he moved and changed position in bed he would remember Allah saying, ‘Allahu Akbar’ Until Salat-ul-Fajr.”

Abdullah said: ‘I didn’t hear anything from him but good. When the three nights had passed I said: ‘O slave of Allah! I really didn’t abandon my father nor was I angry with him. But, I heard the Messenger of Allah speaking of you on three separate occasions, the Prophet had said that a man from the people of Paradise would enter, and you were the one to enter on all the three times. So, I wanted to stay with you to see what you do so that I could follow you. But I have not seen you doing much. So what is that you do for Allah’s Messenger (sallallaahu `alayhi wasallam) to say what he had said?’

The man replied: ‘It is nothing more than what you saw.’ When it was time to leave, he called me back and said: ‘Yes, it is nothing more than what you saw, except that I have no place in myself for ill-intentions or Hasad towards any Muslim and what Allah has given them.’ Abdullah said: ‘This is what has made you deserving of the praise and this is what we cannot do.”

[Musnad Ahmad]

2 Responses to ““A man from the people of Paradise will enter now.””

  1. sammer August 14, 2007 at 8:31 pm #

    Asalam alaikum

    SubhanAllah. There’s so much benefit from that…pleasing Allah (swt) is simple, Islam is easy, and Jannah can be attained, inshaAllah. It also shows us the incredible weight of being good to others and not even thinking badly about them. May Allah (swt) protect us from any evil and prevent us from causing any evil to others around us, ameen.

  2. Umm AaM August 15, 2007 at 9:52 am #

    Jazaakillaahu Khayran (y)

Leave a Reply

